Monster Beats urBeats – Review

Monster Beats urBeats

Monster Beats urBeats

 | Dynamic Driver |




🎧 We are reviewing the Monster Beats urBeats. You might think that we have already reviewed this earphone in the past but we have not, the Monster Beats urBeats and the Beats urBeats are not the same earphone, we will explain it later on.

The Monster Beats urBeats are an earphone launched with a 2-brand collaboration, Monster Cable Products, Inc. and Beats by Dr. Dre; Monster is a brand founded by Noel Lee in 1979 and Beats by Dr. Dre belongs to the rapper Dr. Dre. The 2-brand partnership lasted from 2008 until 2012 when both brands split and continue to develop products independently, the Beats urBeats (without “Monster”) are part of the non 2-branded manufacturing, belonging only to the Beats by Dr. Dre brand. Instead, the Monster Beats urBeats (model being reviewed in this article) are the very first urBeats model created and launched before the Beats urBeats.

The confusion about these 2 models and their very similar name leads to dishonest sellers trying to sell the older Monster Beats urBeats as if they were the newer Beats urBeats, we hope that our recent explanation will help you to not get scammed.

Through out the years Monster did many other partnerships with famous artists creating the brands and models:

  • HearBeats – with Lady Gaga
  • Diddy Beats – with PDiddy
  • The Beats™ Solo Justin Bieber Edition
  • PowerBeats with LeBron James
  • Just Beats with Justin Bieber

The Monster Beats urBeats have a relatively small size but are very robustly built in metal with a substantial weight, the cables are rounded and rubberized. On the rear section of the housings you will see the Beats logo, on the top you will find the “urbeats” writing and on the bottom the MONSTER logo.

Inline you will find a microphone and a 3-button remote, these 3 buttons allow you to play/pause music, skip tracks and set the volume up or down. We tested the buttons with Android and Apple devices and they resulted to be fully compatible with Android devices but only the play/pause button worked with Apple devices.

You can buy the Monster Beats urBeats in:

FIND ALL: Earphones Scores Compared

MORE: In-Ear Headphones Reviews

SEE ALSO: Beats Headphones Reviews


Monster Beats urBeats - Review

Tests & Scores

W

Weight

Monster Beats urBeats weight in Ounces and Monster Beats urBeats weight in grams.

MORE: In-Ear Headphones Weight Comparison

SEE ALSO: Earphones Size Comparison


A

Accessories & Packaging

The Monster Beats urBeats unboxing results in 4 total pair of eartips (counting the pair already placed on the earpieces), a branded soft carrying pouch and a cable clip. Most sellers nowadays will send them to you without the retail packaging but if you happen to find one with the original packaging, it will be a relatively large box with a clean design that opens sideways.

gramophone-256607.75/10

Monster beats urbeats - Accessories
Monster beats urbeats – Accessories

B

Bass & Sub Bass

The Monster Beats urBeats bass has some punch but sometimes lacks depth or sounds distorted, we would not consider their lack of depth or bass style to be conservative we would say that it is unbalanced and a wanna be (badly achieved) bassy earphone. You could tolerate their bass if you listen to bass-absent music but for the rest they will fall too short.

Applying an EQ, sub-bass gains a substantial depth but gets out of control, punch is also added.

During our extreme bass tests the Monster Beats urBeats managed to take 40% of power from a Fiio E12 amplifier (high gain, bass boost on, custom basshead EQ) not reaching any type of basshead impact and rumble.

gramophone-256604.75/10

MORE: Earphones Amplification Power Comparison

MORE: Best Basshead Earphones

SEE ALSO: Best Fun Sounding Earphones Chart

Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats

M

Mids & Vocals

The Monster Beats urBeats mids sound odd with somewhat boxy and tinny but vocals do not sound too distant. Higher mids are substantially rolled off and not harsh. To be honest, their mids sound pretty horrible.

With an EQ, lower vocals become even boxier and things do not improve much.

gramophone-256603.75/10


H

Highs & Treble

The Monster Beats urBeats highs exhibit some brightness and fair detail but have a strongly dark and muffled style, they provide more detail than brightness. Piercing and sibilant highs are not present at all.

An EQ helps to ease up the lack of brightness but will mostly enhance their level of resolved detail, sibilance will not arise too much but piercing highs will start to show up.

gramophone-256604.25/10

Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats

SL

Sound Leak

The Monster Beats urBeats have a slightly less perceivable than average level of sound leaking. They will not be absolute silent like the KZ ATE but if you keep your volume in a moderate level they will not heard by nearby people in noisy city situations.

gramophone-256607.25/10

MORE: Best Headphones for Libraries Chart

SEE ALSO: Best Earphones for Bed


SI

Sound Isolation

The isolation that the Monster Beats urBeats achieves is a tad better than many average earphones, not a radical difference but a bit. Surroundings will be substantially subdues even with low-moderate volumes.

gramophone-256607.25/10

Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats
Monster Beats urBeats

C

Comfort

The shape of the housings are very comfortable to wear and provide a good firm fit. Moreover, the back section of the housings is slightly larger in diameter giving an optimum place to grab them and re-position them easily.

gramophone-256608/10

RELATED: Best Earphones for Daily Commute

MORE: Most Comfortable In-Ear Headphones


EQ

Response to Equalization

The Monster Beats urBeats could have benefited from the help of an EQ but they failed to provide worthy sound upgrades. Bass became uncontrollable, mids made their vocals even boxier and tinnier and highs resolved more detail but brightness did not catch up.

gramophone-256604/10

MORE: Editor’s Picks Earphones Chart

MORE: Best Bang for the Buck Earphones


BUY IT AT: 


SEE ALSO: Coupons – Discounts – Deals – Promo Codes – Sales Deals

Follow us:

    

Get the latest reviews on your favorite social network


Scores Scores

FIND ALL OUR: Earphones Reviews / In-Ear Headphones Reviews

MORE: Best Earphones Charts


Buy it from:



SEE ALSO: Coupons – Discounts – Deals – Promo Codes – Sales Deals

Frequency Response (raw)

Monster Beats urBeats Frequency Response

MONSTER Beats urBeats - Frequency Response
MONSTER Beats urBeats – Frequency Response

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU: Headphones Frequency Response Curves

SEE ALSO: KZ Headphones Frequency Response Curves


Monster Beats urBeats

Specifications

Type Dynamic
Driver Unit Dynamic Driver
Sensitivity N/A
Power Capacity N/A
Impedance N/A
Frequency Response N/A
Diaphragm Unknown
Magnet N/A
Cord Y-type, round cord
Cord Length 1.2m
Plug Stereo mini plug
Weight N/A
Supplied Accessories 3x Earphone tips; cable clip; soft carrying pouch

MORE: Single Dynamic Driver Earphones Reviews

MORE: Amazon Coupons & Deals

MORE:  Gearbest Coupons – Discounts – Deals – Promo Codes – Sales Deals

SEE ALSO: Banggood Coupons – Discounts – Deals – Promo Codes – Sales Deals

SEE ALSO: Aliexpress Coupons – Discounts – Deals – Promo Codes – Sales Deals


Photos
DISCLAIMER
We highly discourage anyone from trying to apply our testings to your own earphones, the risk of damaging or permanently breaking your iems is absolutely probable to happen. With our standardized equalization and amplification tests we push the limits of the earphones to the extreme. If anyway you decide to do so, we cannot be held responsible of the damage done to your equipment. Do it at your own risk.

Monster Beats urBeats

5.9

SCORE

5.9/10


RECOMMENDED




Enjoyed this Article?

❤ Follow us:     

Buy us a coffee 


We hope you enjoyed this article. All the earphones reviews, earbuds reviews, headsets reviews, in-ear monitors reviews (iem), in-ear headphones reviews are made as objective and thorough as possible to provide our readers a way to choose the best earphones, earbuds, iem, in-ear monitors, headsets and in-ear headphones. By providing exhaustive information we allow our readers to even fine-tune their choices to select among the best budget earphones, best earphones for sports, best basshead earphones, best fun sounding earphones, most balanced earphones, least fatiguing earphones, most comfortable earphones, best looking earphones or even for the best cheap earphones to buy.  Our resources offer: In-Depth Earphones Reviews, Earphones Scores Compared, an Earphones Size Comparison Tool, a sound frequency cheat-sheet, an Earphones Amplification Comparison Table, a brief audio glossary with the most frequent audio terms and audio definitions, and our Earphones Top Charts (covering the Top 10 Basshead Earphones, Best Bang for Buck Earphones, Best KZ earphones, Best bang for buck KZ earphones, Best basshead KZ earphones, Best KZ earphones for bass, Best KZ earphones for gaming, Best KZ earphones for sleeping, Best KZ earphones for working out, Best KZ earphones under $20, Best KZ earphones under $50, Best smallest KZ earphones, Top Balanced Earphones, Best Xiaomi Headphones, Best Xiaomi Earphones for Bass, Best Xiaomi Headphones under $50, Best Xiaomi Headphones under $20, The Best Xiaomi Wireless Headphones, Best Bang for Buck Xiaomi Headphones, Best 11.11 Deals & Coupons – Aliexpress – Gearbest – Banggood, Black Friday Coupons and Deals, Aliexpress Anniversary Sale Coupons and Deals, Cyber Monday Coupons and Discounts, Black Friday Coupons Aliexpress, Gearbest, Banggood, Amazon Coupons Discounts Deals Promo Codes Sales, ALIEXPRESS Coupons & Promo Codes – Exclusive Discounts