Plextone X34M – Review

Plextone X34M

Plextone X34M

| 10 mm Driver |


 
 

? We have reviewed several Plextone earphones and this time we are adding to our review database the Plextone X34M, with their small and ethereal design. The Plextone X34M look very elegant and polished with an appearance that certainly exceeds their ultra budget selling price. This is something very common with Plextone earphones, so far every earphones from the brand that we have reviewed shared outstanding solid metal housing construction, premium looks and remained ridiculously affordable (seriously budget friendly!) The housings feel robust and durable while remaining light weighted. As you might see from our photos the earpieces are pretty small, just a bit larger than the eartips. The cable is rounded and basic overall but with a good amount of rubberized finish that helps to prevent some tangling. There is an inline mic/control that has a compatibility switch and a 1-button control that allows to play/pause music, answer/reject calls and skip songs, this mic/control section is made of plastic and not metal as the housings. You can buy the Plextone X34M in black with silver details or white with silver details.  

FIND ALL: Earphones Scores Compared

MORE: Earphones Reviews


Plextone X34M - Review

Tests & Scores

W

Weight

 

MORE: In-Ear Headphones Weight Comparison

SEE ALSO: Earphones Size Comparison


A

Accessories & Packaging

Packaging and accessories are pretty basic and standard; a small cardboard box with 2 extra eartips and a cable clip.

gramophone-256606.75/10


B

Bass & Sub Bass

The Plextone X34M have punchy and deep bass but it is not overdone, offering energetic but still not boomy bass. Their bass will fulfill most music genres without any issues. With an EQ bass becomes punchier and deeper but struggles to provide clean sub-bass. Mid frequencies get a bit too muffled too. During our extreme bass tests with a custom basshead EQ and a Fiio E12 Mont Blanc set to high gain and bass boost ON, the Plextone X34M managed up to 46% of Fiio’s maximum power with a huge increment of mid-bass and sub-bass but no basshead impact or rumble at all. Do not expect the same basshead performance of it’s brothers (the Plextone X41M and the Plextone X50M)

gramophone-256607.75/10

MORE: Earphones Amplification Power Comparison

MORE: Best Basshead Earphones

SEE ALSO: Best Fun Sounding Earphones Chart


M

Mids & Vocals

Mids of the Plextone X34M are clear and vivid. Higher mids are clear but can get harsh peaks; lower mids sound right in general but there are some recurring sibilant vocals. Applying an EQ, lower mids and vocals sound even clearer but boxy sounds are added, higher mids get harsher too.

gramophone-256607.25/10


H

Highs & Treble

The highs of the Plextone X34M are bright but lack detail and can get piercing with strong peaks. As we mentioned in the Mids/Vocals tests, sibilance is recurrent and can be an issue for treble sensitive people. Equalizing can brighten up a lot more their highs and add a significant amount of detail, sibilance and piercing highs get stronger too.

gramophone-256607.25/10

 


Plextone X34M
Plextone X34M

SL

Sound Leak

The sound that leaks out of Plextone X34M is controlled but still perceivable. On mediumly noisy places sound leaking will not be heard but it is not the best performer for quiet environments

gramophone-256607.25/10


SI

Sound Isolation

Surrounding noises get reduced but there will be no total isolation unless higher volume levels are used.

gramophone-256607.75/10


C

Comfort

The Plextone X34M are very small sized and fit comfortably inside the ears, their fit is also secure and tight enough to withstand any normal activities. Overall they offer great comfort even after prolonged listening sessions.

gramophone-256608/10


EQ

Response to Equalization

Using EQs they were able to improve some of their audio frequencies but also some issues were enhanced. Bass got punchier and deeper but risked to become overall too muddy; mids and vocals got clearer in the lower end while boxy and harsh sounds were empowered; highs added a significant amount of brightness and detail but sibilance and piercing highs got stronger too.

gramophone-256607.25/10

MORE: Editor’s Picks Earphones Chart

MORE: Best Bang for the Buck Earphones


 
 
 

Scores Scores

FIND ALL OUR: Earphones Reviews / In-Ear Headphones Reviews

MORE: Best Earphones Charts


 
 
 


Specifications

Type Dynamic
Driver Unit 10mm
Sensitivity 118dB/mW
Power Capacity Unknown
Impedance 16 ohms
Frequency Response 15-21,000Hz
Diaphragm Unknown
Magnet Unknown
Cord Y-type, round cord
Cord Length 1.2m
Plug Stereo mini plug (Gold plated)
Weight (Without Cord) Approx. 8g
Supplied Accessories 2x Earphone tips ; cable clip

Photos
DISCLAIMER
We highly discourage anyone from trying to apply our testings to your own earphones, the risk of damaging or permanently breaking your iems is absolutely probable to happen. With our standardized equalization and amplification tests we push the limits of the earphones to the extreme. If anyway you decide to do so, we cannot be held responsible of the damage done to your equipment. Do it at your own risk.

Plextone X34M

7.7

SCORE

7.7/10


RECOMMENDED





Enjoyed this Article?

❤ Follow us:     

Buy us a coffee 


We hope you enjoyed this article. All the earphones reviews, earbuds reviews, headsets reviews, in-ear monitors reviews (iem), in-ear headphones reviews are made as objective and thorough as possible to provide our readers a way to choose the best earphones, earbuds, iem, in-ear monitors, headsets and in-ear headphones. By providing exhaustive information we allow our readers to even fine-tune their choices to select among the best budget earphones, best earphones for sports, best basshead earphones, best fun sounding earphones, most balanced earphones, least fatiguing earphones, most comfortable earphones, best looking earphones or even for the best cheap earphones to buy.  Our resources offer: In-Depth Earphones Reviews, Earphones Scores Compared, an Earphones Size Comparison Tool, a sound frequency cheat-sheet, an Earphones Amplification Comparison Table, a brief audio glossary with the most frequent audio terms and audio definitions, and our Earphones Top Charts (covering the Top 10 Basshead Earphones, Best Bang for Buck Earphones, Top Sports Earphones, Top Balanced Earphones, Top Fun Sound Earphones, top smooth sounding earphones)